Unleash the beast

Ah, ah. You had in mind Marshawn Lynch (Go, Bears!). But you would be wrong.

For several years I studied philosophy in college, a subject that I found liberating, just as the author of this piece for the New York Times does. It can be at times dense, frustrating, illustrative, insightful, and, believe it or not, damn interesting in itself. But, with the author, I felt the academic philosopher caged, insulated, and too often unavailable to ordinary lives. I like this excerpt from the linked essay:

But I think the key difference between science and philosophy is that we need the results of science more than we need everyone in the body politic “doing science.” By contrast, we need everyone “doing philosophy” more than we need the results of philosophy.

Amen. A good read, by the way.